Welcome to

SHANNON MUIR’S THE PULP AND MYSTERY SHELF!

DISCLAIMER: This content has been provided to SHANNON MUIR’S THE PULP AND MYSTERY SHELF by Silver Dagger Book Tours. No compensation was received. This information required by the Federal Trade Commission.

Silent River
by C.M. Weaver
Genre: Psychological Thriller
A gripping psychological thriller inspired by true events.
Robert Collins is Portland’s best investigative detective. When the
Stevens family goes missing, he goes to work. As he uncovers clues
the family may have been targeted for a professional hit by organized
crime, it gets personal.
Too personal. Can he face down his inner demons before he loses
himself?
He confronts the mob and police bureaucracy to find the missing family.
Jake, partner and friend, thinks he’s spiraling into obsession, when
Robert’s taken off the case but refuses to give up the investigation.
Can he get past this shameless tragedy and his own past to move on with
his life?
Silent River is a fictionalized version of a real investigation in the late 1950s in
Portland, Oregon, a time when money and power ruled the city. This
story will appeal to fans of true crime and detective fiction alike.
Readers who enjoy Ann Rule, Rex Stout, and Mary Higgins Clark will
love CM Weaver.

Interview with the Author

What inspired you to write this book?

In the early eighties my mother handed me a full page article and said. “You need to write a story about this family.” What transpired over the next few months cemented my need to tell this story. My research started with the Detective on the case. He refused to talk to me. He hung up on me four times before I convinced him I was writing a book. We talked and I wrote that first manuscript. I sent it to him. That piece of work brought to me a friend who became fascinated by the news articles and was given that manuscript by the detective’s family. It was returned to me a month ago in the same package I’d mailed it to the detective.

 

Can you tell us a little bit about the characters in Silent River?

The family is real. The Detective is slightly based on the only policeman I knew at the time. His story is made up but his parents, brother and hometown are real. I made up a sidekick because every Detective needs someone to keep them grounded. There has to be a love interest. It helps make the man real. I had to give him a flaw. I had no idea what it could be until I needed to give him a reason to hate organized crime more than usual. I created the death of his wife, child and partner in a drive by shooting attributed to the Mob. This gave the reader a sympathy to his actions.

 

How did you come up with the concept and characters for the book?

They are taken from newspaper articles and police reports as well as interviews. Almost everything in this book is true to the actual police reports.

 

What did you enjoy most about writing this book?

Telling the truth as close as I could. This is an unsolved murder so I had to make up an ending.

 

Who designed your book covers?

Designers with my publisher on my direction. I knew what I wanted. They made it happen. It took some trial and error, but the designers at Italics Publishing got it with the second offering.

 

How did you come up with name of this book?

I struggled with the name for this book. It’s about a family that disappears only to have two of the children discovered in the river.  I had a couple of names but Silent River seemed to stick with me.

 

What is your favorite part of this book and why?

Chapter 2 It shows the change that starts with Robert. I wrote this first part over and over again.

 

Are your characters based off real people or did they all come entirely from your imagination?

The characters are based on real detectives and what they did on this case.

 

Do your characters seem to hijack the story or do you feel like you have the reigns of the story? Convince us why you feel your book is a must read.

This book is about one man’s fight for justice for a murdered family. Even though every clue and bit of evidence he uncovered pointed to a well orchestrated murder, he stood firm in his conviction. If you want everything tied in a neat bow at the end, this isn’t that book. This book will reaffirm life isn’t fair, but there is a justice we can all accept.

 

Author Bio

I live and work in the
Pacific Northwest. I’m married and take care of a challenged rescue
dog, Ariel. I love writing, but don’t write in one particular
genre. I do gravitate more to mysteries as I’m always asking “What if?”
Follow the tour HERE
for exclusive excerpts, guest posts and a giveaway!